Friday, 15 June 2018

UPSC Exam Details: Eligibility, Qualification, Syallbus

UPSC exam by

About UPSC Exam

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is India’s central agency, which conducts Civil Services Examination (CSE) which is a National level competitive examination in India, conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government of India such as IAS, IFS, NDA, CDS, SCRA etc. It is a very reputated and tough to crack exams in India. According to the latest UPSC details, there are around 980 vacancies in 2017 for UPSC Civil Services which goes on increasing or decreasing every year. In this article we will provide you all the information regarding UPSC Civil Services like UPSC eligibility, no. of attempts, exam pattern, qualification.

UPSC Exam Eligibilty


* For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, the candidate must be a citizen of India.

* For other service candidate must be:

i) Candidate must be an Indian citizen.

ii) Person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi , Zaire ,  Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India will be eligible for UPSC Exam.

UPSC Exam Qualification


* Candidate must have past their degree from Central, State or Open university.


* For Other Backward Classe the upper limit is 35 years.

* For Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Castes the upper limit is 37 years.

Number of attempts

* General category candidates = 6.

* Other Backward class candidates = 9.

* SC/ST candidates = unlimited attempts till 37 years.

UPSC Exam Syllabus

Syllabus for the IAS Exam is set by UPSC. The nodal authority of Indian Civil Service Exams conducts a single test and follows a common syllabus for IAS and rest of the services like Income Tax and the IPS.
There are three stage:
1) UPSC Prelims (also called CSAT).
2) UPSC Mains.
3) Interview.

UPSC PRELIMS (Objective type)

The first stage or the screening test of UPSC CSE is an aptitude assessment examination and the paper includes questions of ‘Reasoning and Analytical’ format.
The Prelims is divided into two papers of objective-type questions and each paper is of 200 marks, equaling a total of 400 marks. The total duration of the IAS exam prelims is 2 hours and it is mandatory for every candidate to complete both the papers.
The IAS Exam Paper 1 has topics of General Studies including history of India, economy etc.
The IAS Exam Paper 2 will be of reasoning and aptitude.

UPSC MAINS (Subjective type)

* 1st paper- Essay in language or medium chosen by an individual candidate. (Marks Allotment=250

* 2nd paper- General Studies 1 consisting of Indian Heritage, Indian Culture, Indian History, Local and World Geography. (Marks Alloted=250)

* 3rd paper- General Studies 2 consisting of topics Polity & Governance, Social Justice & International Relations, and Constitution.  (Marks Alloted=250)

* 4th paper- General Studies 3 comprising of topics of Economic Development, Technology, Bio-diversity, Security & Disaster Management. (Marks Alloted=250)

* 5th paper- General Studies 4 comprising of topics of Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude. (Marks Allotment=250)

* 6th paper- is the optional subject, Paper 1. (Marks Alloted=250)

* 7th paper- is the optional subject, Paper 2. (Marks Alloted=250)

UPSC Interview format based on a Vocal Section

After completing UPSC exam. The selected candidates are called for interview by the board members where questions are directed towards assessing the social traits and current affairs aptitude of each candidate.

No comments:

Post a Comment